Brunette Mini Rant

Monthly glossy time – yay. But I am kinda annoyed about one of the articles in Elle. It’s by Editor-in-Chief Lorraine Candy and it’s called – Blonde: The Final Frontier. Lorriane speaks about how she felt going from blonde to brunette  . .

‘I immediately felt invisible. Builders don’t whistle at you if you are brunette. You don’t get second glances and somehow when you put your sunglasses on, you don’t feel anywhere near as glamorous.’

So much beef with these comments in particular – I have a massive brunette barnet and it is my pride and joy (and by that I mean the appropriate amount of pride one should place on their hair!). I’ve never felt invisible and I feel very glam with my shades on. And if I don’t get leered at by creepy builders – does that mean I shouldn’t consider myself attractive?

But in broader terms – I think it is a worry when influential women in the fashion industry are telling us that the colour of our hair should constitute such a significant portion of our identity as women.

As well as having such an impact on our mental health and self-esteem – case in point – ‘As a brunette I felt uncomfortable in my own skin – mild agoraphobia and a sadness verging on depression engulfed me’.

Over changing your hair colour? Really?

OK – mini rant over.

One response to “Brunette Mini Rant

  1. very reasonable rant 😀
    loving the blog!
    great posts
    stop by some time xx

Leave a Reply

